Peugeot logo history and evolution from 1847 to 2002
Peugeot was translated as "do not Confucianism", the company uses "lion" as a trademark of the car. In 1848, the Armandro family create a factory in Paris, mainly produce saws, springs and gears. In 1896, "do not Confucianism" create a Peugeot car company in Montpellier. In 1976 the company and the Citroen car company composed Peugeot Group.
Since 1847 The history of the iconic “lion” logo of Peugeot dates back to 1847, when the company used to make saw blades and steel goods. According to branding experts, the lion portrays three major attributes of Peugeot saw blades; the strong teeth, the elastic blade, and the swift cut. The logo first showed on the “Peugeot Bros” arrow in 1950, and was registered as a trademark in 1858.
Since 1889, Peugeot made its first machine, a tricycle, as a result of successful collaboration between Leon Serpollet and Armand Peugeot. It was the first machine to bear the company’s name. The later vehicles sported the words ‘Automobiles Peugeot’ on the radiators. From 1905 to 1915, the lion logo on an arrow was displayed on the “Lion Peugeot” cars manufactured by Peugeot Bros.
Since 1910, After the merger of the cycle and automobile manufacturing activities in 1910, the company “Automobiles et Cycles Peugeot” marked their cars with the old PEUGEOT. Few of the models presented “unofficial” lions such as the Baudichon lion (1923) and the Marx lion (1925), both of which were named after their sculptors and are truly artistically formed. In 1933, a more realistic lion was seen on bonnets of the cars.
Since 1948,The heraldic lion made its appearance on the 203. It is nurturing to capture the posture of the lion on the coat of arms of Franche-Comté, the place where the company was instituted.
Since 1965,After becoming the holding company and being named Peugeot S.A., the company made a few modifications to the logo. The lion’s head was held on a triangular shield. After three years the same head was enclosed in a square shaped structure, and it remains the same till date, while the radiators of the cars still hold the heraldic lion.
Since 1976,The PSA Peugeot-Citroën holding company was created after the successful merger of Peugeot and Citroën in 1976. This group then acquired the Chrysler Corporation. There were so many events hindering the originality of the Peugeot brand. To strengthen its image, Peugeot had once again driven back to the heraldic lion, with a sophisticated design known as “Lion fil”. The best representative of this new identity is 205, which has been sold efficiently since 1983.
Since 1998,Peugeot logo was once again altered and the paws were added to highlight the power and balance of this logo. Furthermore, the blue, intense eye in the emblem signifies the future planning of the company. The lion is finalized and metalized to enhance the brand’s values (sure, dynamic, aesthetic); and is now presented in the latest car models of the company.
Since 2002,The current Peugeot logo is known as the “Blue Brand”. The logo was modified yet again in 2002 to project the aims and objectives of the Peugeot brand. It is complete, metalized and has an elaborated black hue added to showcase the lion’s shadow.
The proportionally shaped Peugeot logo is often considered as one of the most visually spectacular car logos ever created.